Puck’s Christmas Favorites: The Sweeney Sisters

December 19, 2007 at 2:57 pm 213 comments

I have nothing much to do since the end-of-semester-from-hell ended, so I thought I’d dust off the blog and post some of my favorite Christmas videos. I considered doing some sort of “Puck’s Twelve Days of Christmas Favorites,” but that would have involved my finding and rating twelve favorites. After what I’ve just been through with school, I’m in no mood to do anything involving structure, organization, critical thinking, or concentration. So I’m just going to throw a bunch of stuff at y’all: Holiday favorites found on YouTube, with a little blurb on why each is special to me.

Let’s kick it off with Saturday Night Live‘s Sweeney Sisters (Jan Hooks and Nora Dunn) and their unforgettable Christmas medley. This episode of SNL aired December 20, 1986 with host William Shatner, andis probably best remembered for The Shat’s famous “Get a life!” sketch.)

EDIT: Sorry, folks. This is a really popular post on the blog, but the video has been taken down from YouTube due to copyright violation. If I had a copy of the video (I’m not saying whether I do or not) and were to re-upload it, YouTube would immediately and automatically detect it as copyrighted material and reject it. HOWEVER: If you leave me a comment or send me an email, I just might (MIGHT!) have some suggestions on where you might (MIGHT!) look for it.

CHRISTMAS 2012 UPDATE: I am still replying to everyone who comments or emails. Keep it coming!

The associated warm-fuzzy memory is of my sister’s first visit home for Christmas after having moved to Vancouver earlier that year. We were all so happy to see her again, and the mood at home was festive times ten. We watched this SNL together, and for the rest of her visit, she and I kept going up to each other singing, “Hark! how the bells / Here come the bells / There go the bells / So many bells! / Merry, merry, merry, merry Christmas! / Merry, merry, merry, merry Christmas!”

Entry filed under: 1980s, Christmas, comedy, humor, nostalgia, Saturday Night Live, SNL, Sweeney Sisters, TV. Tags: , , .

Hurricane Natalee Puck’s Christmas Favorites: Bing and Bowie

213 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adrienne Alexander  |  November 10, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Hey there! I am desperately looking for a copy of this video…if you have it (not saying you do!) can I get a copy??? I just need the audio…for a Christmas Drag Show…. :)

    Adrienne

  • 2. Jennifer  |  November 22, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I can’t find this video–any idea where I can get it? It’s a favorite of my sister’s and mine.
    thanks!!!

  • 3. Megan  |  November 25, 2008 at 12:17 am

    I LOVE this video and I’m hoping to show it to a friend so we can re-create it for a Christmas program out here in Taiwan…..Anyway you’d be able to send it my way? Thanks a million!!!!

  • 4. Christopher Wall  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Is there any way I can get a copy of this video? I wanted to give it to a friend of mine because she loves this sketch and has not seen it in years. SNL just refuses to release it. I would appreciate anything you could do!

    Merry Christmas!

  • 5. Jon Fillman  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:40 am

    If there is any way to view this video…please let me know!

  • 6. hi  |  December 18, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    i came across your site looking for the video on the sweeney sisters. can u pls send me a copy??!

    i cannot find any vids on the sweeney sisters anywhere! i wonder if its because of snl’ being spiteful to nora dunn.

  • 7. Maggie  |  December 19, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Please, please, please send me the Sweeney Sister Christmas vid! It won’t be the holidays without it!

  • 8. Lisa  |  December 20, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    I, too, am desperately looking for this video. Since we all know that you don’t have it ;-) where would you suggest that I might look for it? If you want to email me with a “similar” video, I would be so grateful. This sketch from SNL is my best friend’s and my favorite sketch. It brings back great memories for us both. We talk about it every Christmas. We used to live for SNL each week. We no longer live in the same city, or even the same state, for that matter. Please help make our Christmas wish come true.

  • 9. Dan  |  December 20, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I can believe that. If you might know some way of getting a copy sent to me I would greatly appreciate it. Merry Christmas!

  • 10. Rod  |  December 20, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Hi Puck,

    I am having dinner with my uncle and we were chatting about favourite SNL skits. I brought up the Schwettie episodes and JT’s you-know-what in a box as being classics for me. But, for him, he brought up the Shatner episode with Jane Curtin, and, after some searching, I realize that it is the episode you speak of here. Sounds like a real classic that my uncle would like to see again and I would like to enjoy for the first time. If you have any suggestions on where to get it, be much appreciated.

    Thanks Puck!

  • 11. Polly Kenzie  |  December 21, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Hi There!

    I’d love to know where to find this clip. Please let me know!
    Thanks a lot. Merry Christmas
    Polly

  • 12. Julie  |  December 22, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I would love a copy of this video…my sister and I used to play it every Christmas…so sad it’s been taken off.

    Merry Christmas,
    Julie

  • 13. Reece  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I to would love to show a copy of this video to my son. I remember the original and would love to pass it on. Thanks.

  • 14. Daren Wallace  |  December 23, 2008 at 12:28 am

    Hi Puck –

    My wife and her friends used to do this video all the time. They were reminiscing the other day and were really bummed they couldn’t find the video. I would score big points if I could locate a copy of the video. Thanks.

  • 15. Karen  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I’d love a copy of the video for our christmas party this afternoon.
    thanks
    Karen

  • 16. Doug  |  December 23, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Please let me know where I can get this clip. It is just too funny and I can only laugh just thinking about it.

  • 17. Doug D  |  December 23, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Hey Puck,

    Sad that due to their business reasons, we can’t just enjoy this video like we should be able to, like the artists and writers intended.

    I would be very appreciative to get any information on how I can watch this once again.

    Merry Christmas!

  • 18. Amy S  |  December 23, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    We have been talking about this for years in my family. If you have a clue how to tell me to get a copy of this, I would be forever greatful. I have searched the web for it. Thanks.

  • 19. Robin H Barfield  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I could probably dig up an old VCR tape (how old am I?) at my parents house – I used to record all the SNLs. This one is by far one of my favorites!!!! My best friend and I used to put on a show for whoever would listen…..would also love to find this clip!!! If I ever find that “tape” (ha ha) i will try to post.

  • 20. Jocey  |  December 24, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I would also LOVE to find a copy of this video. My husband has never seen it and has no idea what I am talking about or what he is missing!! Also, my 3 sisters and I used to reenact this each Christmas and I would surely secure my spot as the favorite sister if I could locate this for them!!! Thanks & Merry Christmas!!!

  • 21. tim  |  December 24, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I would also love to see this video…. it’s the best! soooo funny! just isn’t christmas without it. if you could let me know where to find it i would be so grateful!
    merry christmas!

  • 22. Michael McClain  |  December 25, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Merry X-mas…we’re watching an SNL Xmas collection dvd. It does not contain the Sweeneys. Or the Donny & Marie Xmas Special spoof where they make out at the end. WTF? lol
    Where might we possibly find the sister’s vid?
    Thanks…Michael
    p.s…have you seen the Sweeney skit where their other sister
    appeared? played by Mary Tyler Moore! hilarious!!

  • 23. Mike  |  January 23, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Tell me where to find the sweeney sisters chirstmas carol?

  • 24. Stace  |  January 28, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I am another one looking for this video, would so enjoy seeing it.

  • 25. Justin  |  February 4, 2009 at 1:05 am

    I am another one who would love to see this video.

  • 26. israel calcano  |  February 23, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I would like to see some of the sweeney sisters videos, please

  • 27. Elizabeth Hawthorne  |  February 25, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Wow, I sure do love this blog.
    Such a great one.
    Sure wish I knew where to look for the Sweeney Sisters….
    Did I say how much I love this blog?

  • 28. Nikki  |  February 27, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I am interested in finding out a possible alternative to get a copy of this awesome video. Any direction would be much appreciated. Have a Clang Clang of the Trolley Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 29. Natalie  |  April 10, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Please let me know where I can watch any of the sweeney sisters’ skits…I’d been looking for them for ages…

    THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 30. DG  |  April 11, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I have looked all over internet to try and find the Sweeney Sister’s Christmas video. I’d love to see it :^) Thanks for enjoying it too!

  • 31. Sally Charles  |  May 11, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    a video attachment to an email would be most welcome!! Many thanks!

  • 32. JT  |  June 11, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    I’ve been looking everywhere for this to show to my kids. I’d love to get some advice about where I might look to find it. :-)

  • 33. Anthony  |  June 23, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Would love to see the christmas episode!!! I loved the sweeney sisters and that was the greatest one they ever did. Please send to me Thanks

  • 34. Kris  |  July 16, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Oh please oh please I have been looking for years and really want to see it!!!!!!! It is a family favorite that lives only in our memories!!!!

  • 35. julie schroeder  |  September 17, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    would love to find the Sweeney Sisters Christmas skit. Can’t believe it aired over 20 years ago…

  • 36. Kris Rees  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:01 am

    How can I get a copy of that Sweeny Sisters’ skit? I love those guys!
    Kris

  • 37. Adam  |  October 21, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I would to be able to see a copy of that clip and any other sweeney sisters that are out there.

  • 38. pj  |  October 27, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Hi! Sure would love to get a copy of the Christmas party sketch! Thanks a bunch!

  • 39. Nick  |  November 5, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I have looked all over for a copy of this sketch. I have even emailed SNL and NBC requesting it or even an opportunity to buy it… please help!

  • 40. whitney  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:10 am

    my sister and I LOOOOOVE this sketch, sing it when we’re together and really need to have a copy of it. We had it recorded off the tv on VHS, but it has disappeared. I would love to show it to her this year for xmas… would buy 2 copies.
    Thanks!

  • 41. Jessie  |  November 12, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I am visiting my best friend in Phoenix and we have been searching the internet for at least 3 HOURS! We can’t believe that we can not find this anywhere! Please, if you could….send this to me :) We need our fix!! I’m am only here for a day or two…please!!! Thanks so much!

  • 42. Danny  |  November 17, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    I’ve been trying to find the sweeney sisters Christmas sketch for YEARS!!! Any way you could help? I’ll buy it if someone’s got it.

  • 43. Ben  |  November 22, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Ahh! I’ve been looking for this video for ages!! Would love some guidance on where I might find it… thanks!

  • 44. Jeff  |  November 26, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I was just telling everyone how funny this is and would love to find the video. Any help would be great!

  • 45. michael  |  November 29, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Please please please help me find a copy of this sketch. I used to perform this sketch with a friend at parties in high school.

  • 46. Tom  |  December 1, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    would love to get a copy of the sweeney sister video from Christmas,

  • 47. Bird  |  December 1, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Hi there, I would love to get a copy of this. My best friend and I love the Sweeny sisters. Been looking for this for YEARS!!!

  • 48. laha  |  December 3, 2009 at 2:12 am

    omg please do tell! this is the best thing on tv ever and im dying to sing along to it

  • 49. Madeleine  |  December 3, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    I’ve been looking for this forever! I haven’t seen it since it aired, but I’ve never forgotten it. Thanks for providing such a festive service and happy holidays!!

  • 50. Rik  |  December 4, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I would be considered a hero by some if I could come up with a copy of this. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.
    Thank you.

  • 51. Nat  |  December 4, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    How long I have looked to hear this again! Please tell Santa I am also a big fan and would appreciate a copy if it ever is floating around somewhere :)

    Nat

  • 52. Ash  |  December 6, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    So for the past two years or so I’ve been searching for the Sweeney Sisters and their fab Christmas medley. I think I hit your blog last year, but Youtube had already banned the video (mostly due to NBC, no doubt). Anyway, I wanted to add my ‘voice’ to the chorus of folks on here asking for more info about where to find this clip. I’m sure there are other sites out there apart from Youtube where one might find a loophole to post this vid. Anyway, thanks for keeping this blog post up so more fans can show our appreciation.
    Cheers!
    Ash

  • 53. Jamy  |  December 7, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Hey, who you calling a ding-a-ling? My sister’s favorite line. I think we had it on tape. But that was almost 20 years ago. Would love to know where I could find this video. My brother and sisters and I love it!!!

  • 54. Father Time  |  December 7, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    We have the privilege of two wonderfully gifted daughters musically and satirically, who imitated them PERFECTLY. I would love to send them this video as a spoof “e-greeting” for the holidays. SNL was a staple in our family in the 70’s- 80’s. Comes up every Xmas morning, by the way. C’mon my friend “CLang clang clang our trolley,” and “the bells, yes, the bells”

    (And Shatner, with a highball or martini….. God, what a classic.)

    Not that you “HAVE” the scoop on it, but “if you did……..”

  • 55. Rob Feller  |  December 10, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Hey! Just in case you still (or don’t) have a copy, I’d love to see it….

  • 56. jeannette  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Sweeney sisters Christmas please!!!! I got a link from my buddy Danny but I can’t open it can I get it directly from the source we don’t know about.

  • 57. Dan  |  December 11, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Every year I find myself searching for this video. Would love to see it again. Thanks (deedubs84@gmail.com)

  • 58. Andy Monroe  |  December 12, 2009 at 12:31 am

    Add my name to the list of people who are dying to have another look at this wonderful sketch. Any clues you have as to how one could view it would be so greatly appreciated! Happy holidays!

  • 59. Tara McArthur  |  December 13, 2009 at 2:14 am

    I want to share this sketch with my children. Please help me…Thank you.

  • 60. Dale  |  December 13, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I’m SO glad to hear that others remember the Sweeny Sisters, especially the Christmas clilp! If you know where to find it, I’d love see it again. Thanks!

  • 61. Christi  |  December 13, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this video! My sister and I use to watch it every year! I look on Youtube every year just to see if I can catch a copy before it’s removed. I would love to have a copy if there was any way anyone had it!

  • 62. Kuriti  |  December 15, 2009 at 7:32 am

    would love any info on the sweeney sisters video. thanks for your time.

  • 63. Cher  |  December 15, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Every year I search and search for this video….but to no avail…..
    If you know where I can watch it, you would totally make my Christmas!!

  • 64. Bonnie  |  December 16, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I would love to see this video again. Please let me know if you know where I can find it! Thanks!

  • 65. maggie  |  December 16, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    This is my roommate’s favorite skit!!! She has been talking about it since Halloween. please let me know where to find it. That would MAKE her holiday! THANKS!!!

  • 66. Lisa M.  |  December 16, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I cannot believe this skit is never included in the Christmas sketch roundups that SNL shows each year, nor is it on the DVD compilation I bought a few years back. It’s one of my very VERY favorites, so any… tips… on where I can find it would be greatly appreciated! ;-)

  • 67. texson  |  December 17, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Would love to know where to look for this video!

  • 68. pk  |  December 17, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks for this post! I would love info about where to find this video if you have it (I would like very much to share it with a friend).

    Thanks!

    listspk at yahoo dot com

  • 69. Who  |  December 17, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    was hoping you could share the link where I can find the sweeney sisters christmas video…been looking for awhile any help is appreciated.

  • 70. Bryan  |  December 17, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Yeah, I’d love this video as well. I like to sing the “here come the bells” song this time of year and I think I’ve been doing it wrong.

  • 71. maggie  |  December 17, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Any light you can shed on this mystery would be greatly appreciated! I love this clip.

  • 72. ken  |  December 17, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    i agree, my fiancee would love to see this video, thanks

  • 73. Ron  |  December 17, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    I’ve been searching for this video forever. I don’t know why NBC doesn’t give these ladies (Jan Hooks, Nora Dunn) their due and release DVD’s of their greatest performances.

  • 74. anita  |  December 17, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    I have looked high and low for this video. every christmas video for sale from snl etc. no luck. I would love to have a source. thanks

  • 75. Joe  |  December 17, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Hi Puck,

    I have been going crazy looking for The Sweeney Sisters Christmas sketch. It was hilarious and I would love to see it again for the holidays.I would be truly grateful for any assistance you could give me in this regard.

    Thank you!!

  • 76. Stacy  |  December 18, 2009 at 12:57 am

    This is my favorite sketch of all time, I must have a copy please!!

  • 77. Allison  |  December 18, 2009 at 2:13 am

    If you can help me find this video for my mom that would be great thanks!

  • 78. Carrie Spriggs  |  December 18, 2009 at 2:22 am

    This is my absolute favorite holiday video and I can’t find it anywhere! Please help if you know the secret! :)

  • 79. Sarah  |  December 18, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Hi Puck. What a wonderful memory this performance is for me! My friend & I even did our own version for a high school assembly in 1987. I would LOVE to know if it would be possible to find a copy to enjoy the flashback. I, like so many, have been searching for a long time. The Emmy thing is fun, but it’s just not the same. Carol of the Bells is the best!

    Thank you for any guidance you might have time to offer!

  • 80. Jerrad  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Hi. I love this clip. This always cracked our family up. I wish I knew where to find it :~)

  • 81. Nicole  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I loved the Sweeney Sisters, they always cracked me up! That whole episode was a riot, wish they had more episodes like that now. Would love to see the clip again…

  • 82. James  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I’ve spent years looking for this! My brother had one shortly after it aired, but it got lost. Missed the You Tube version. Any ideas?

    Thanks.

  • 83. James  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Please notify me via e-mail of response to comment just sent. Thanks

  • 84. penny  |  December 18, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    it seems as you’re my only hope with finding this video….snl “sweeney sisters.” can yu help me?

  • 85. Shelly  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    This has been my favorite SNL skit since I was 13. I can recite it from memory, but Jan Hooks and Nora Dunn are far better than I am. :0) Any help you MIGHT be able to give would be awesome. Thanks…and Merry Christmas!

  • 86. Adam  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    So many want it but NBC/SNL never provide. I would LOVE a copy of this. I would pay decent money for it if was offered! Anyone have it?

  • 87. Regan  |  December 19, 2009 at 12:38 am

    If you (Might) know where I could find this could you let me know please?
    Thanks! :)

  • 88. Randy  |  December 19, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I would love a copy of the Sweeney Sisters video. I’ve been looking all over for it. It just won’t be Christmas without it. Thanks in advance.

  • 89. sweeney lovah  |  December 19, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    Any help locating this skit would be much appreciated. I was shocked that it wasn’t on the SNL Christmas show! Thanks!!!

  • 90. Tiffany  |  December 19, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    I would love a copy of this, if you could email or direct me to where I could find it I would appreciate it! Thanks!

  • 91. isabella  |  December 19, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    if anyone knows where the lovely video lives of the sweeney sisters and their christmas medley, i’d be forever grateful.

  • 92. Andrew  |  December 19, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I just watched the SNL “Gilly Christmas Special” and was very sad to see this omitted. Could you please e-mail me with any place you might be able to find this? Plleeease. My mom would absolutely love to see this again. Thanks!

  • 93. Scott Miller  |  December 19, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Puck,

    I am desperately seeking the sweeney christmas video for my wife. If you have any idea where I can find it I would be forever grateful.

    Thanks

    Scott

    PS – Merry Christmas

  • 94. emily  |  December 20, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Help! My husband (poor, pathetic soul) has never seen the Sweeney Sisters. Of course, I had no idea of this prior to our marriage or I might have had second thoughts. But before I start resenting his ignorance, would you please recommend where I might find some sweet sweeney goodness? I’d like him to see not only their Christmas appearance but also the one with Paul Simon (“Bridge over tru-huh-bled water…”)!

    Thank you in advance for restoring marital bliss,
    Emily

  • 95. Jessica  |  December 20, 2009 at 1:48 am

    Hi there – I would LOVE to see this again! My sister and I used to watch it all the time and, as she recently passed away, it’s been on my mind. Would appreciate any assistance you might be able to give :)

    Thanks!
    Jessica

  • 96. Karla  |  December 20, 2009 at 3:12 am

    There go the bells, here come the bells, so many bells! Can’t get that skit outta my head….have been searching on the web, old VCR tapes SNL videos but alas, no luck. Please let mem know if you have other info.

    Feliz Navidad!

  • 97. John  |  December 20, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Clang Clang Clang goes the trolley! Who are you calling a ding-a-ling? Please let me know how I can see the Sweeney Sisters’ Christmas Medley.

    John

  • 98. George  |  December 22, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Am bringing up four kids outside of the USA and trying to teach them what was best about SNL during the 1980s! would love to get my hands on this skit if you have any tips. Best, George

  • 99. ryan  |  December 22, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    love me some sweeney sisters! Their christmas medley is a classic, and I’d love to see it again :)

  • 100. Li  |  December 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Here come the bells! There go the bells! I’ve scoured the interweb for this! Where can it be?

  • 101. Emily  |  December 23, 2009 at 12:53 am

    LOVE this sketch. Might you know an elf that can help me see it again? It would make my Christmas!

  • 102. Andrew  |  December 23, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Hey this would be so wonderful to see again! Almost as wonderful as where I might find that skit with Jimmy Smits where his officemates are speaking exaggerated Spanish to him because he’s Hispanic.

    Happy holidays to you!

  • 103. David Szewczuk  |  December 23, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    I cannot tell you how much I would love to get this video! Wouldn’t it be great to have access to these things! Thanks so much and HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

  • 104. George  |  December 23, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    That’s also been one of my very favorite SNL skits, have been looking to see it again on the SNL best of Christmas — sure I’ve seen it there sometime in the last 10 years or so. Sure hope to see it again.

  • 105. lizzie  |  December 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Hello, I really want to show my kids the Sweeney Sisters on SNL do the Bell Medley — can’t find it anywhere on the net. Can you help me? Thanks, and happy holidays.

  • 106. Jami  |  December 23, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Please help me find this. I’ve been looking for years. It’s my favorite!

  • 107. Morgan  |  December 23, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Puck!
    I have been looking for the Sweeney Sisters Christmas party sketch forever! Loved it back in the 80’s & would love to see it again :) it’s priceless! Any info would be so appreciated!

  • 108. Shelley  |  December 24, 2009 at 1:36 am

    The Sweeney Sisters “Bells” medley is my all time favorite! My sisters and I have been searching for it forever. I still can’t figure out why SNL didn’t include it on their Best of Christmas DVD. I’d love any ideas on where I can find it. Thanks a ton!

  • 109. enokanovic  |  December 24, 2009 at 2:52 am

    i would love to see this again as well! greatness!

  • 110. Bill  |  December 24, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    This skit was one of the funniest musical spoofs ever. If you know where to find I would appreciate the help. Thank you.

  • 111. RIch  |  December 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Yes! I’ve been looking all over the net for the Sweeneys! Where, or where can I find one of their sketches, preferably their William Shatner/Xmas sketch?!

  • 112. John  |  December 25, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I really would like to see those Sweeney Sister’s making Christmas cheers with “Bells”.
    Can you help me? :-)
    Thanks
    Merry Christmas!

  • 113. Gina  |  December 25, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Hi Puck,

    I’ve been looking for this clip for the Sweeney Sisters for some time now and would love to know how I can see it or where I can find it. Please help if possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Merry Christmas
    Gina

  • 114. Paul  |  December 26, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Help!!! Where can we find this? The Gilly special was pretty lame, except for the Steve Martin “If I had one Christmas Wish” and “Schwetty Balls” sketches. Can’t believe the NBC/Universal is practically looking for this sketch to dispappear. If possible, let me know where I can find it…..

  • 115. Bill  |  December 28, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Hi,

    I’m, um, doing some research on uploaded copyrighted material for, um, this friend of mine for a, um, class, yes, a class on the internet to get one of those online degrees.

    If you had any suggestions as to where I could find this friend an example of a beloved clip from a tv show, I’d appreciate it. I mean, this friend would. Did I mention that they’re dying and this is their make-a-wish wish?

  • 116. rob sexton  |  January 12, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    hey –
    trying to explain to my kids about how funny the Sweeny Sisters were, and this is the bEST clip of them. IF you still have it, or IF you know where i could get it, i would appreciate it if you could send it to me.

    thank you in advance

    Rob

  • 117. Marina  |  January 15, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    we are doing an SNL party for our company event in vegas and me and my co-worker are going as the sweeney sisters we can’t find ANYTHING on them. can you help me out. We really want to nail this down so we can win something. :)

  • 118. Matt Smith  |  January 16, 2010 at 12:44 am

    You’re my favorite person ever if you can help bring this video back into my life. It’s so damn funny, and I was horrified when YouTube took it down. Thanks!

  • 119. Peter V  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:35 am

    Hi, could you please send me any Sweeney Sisters videos you may have. I’m so dissapointed that Youtube keeps removing all classic SNL skits, there are so many good ones that are not available on DVD.
    Thanks!

  • 120. shelbbaby  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

    hi, where is this sweeney sister christmas video? it is the best!

    thanks!

    marietoenniessen@gmail.com

  • 121. mimi  |  May 1, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    My all time favourite skit!! Would love to see it again.
    Thank you!!!!!

  • 122. AnnMarie Phenner  |  August 15, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Please, Please tell me where I can find the video clip of the sweeney sisters singing the bells, bells, bells, etc.

    My sister and I try to sing it every year.
    Unfortunately she has breast cancer and finding this would surely brighten up her day!!

    Thanks In advance,

    AnnMarie Phenner
    ann@phenner.com

  • 123. Raven Lowell  |  August 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    I would love to know where I could get a copy of this. I perform as a drag queen and would love to add this to my repertoire.

  • 124. alyssa  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I love copyright protections, really I do. But I love this skit more!

    Almost three years later, hope I still have a chance of a response. Thanks!

  • 125. craig_one  |  October 7, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    can i please have the video too!??!!

  • 126. Eileen Hunt  |  October 8, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    This has long been a favorite of mine – would love to see it again… I’d be ever so grateful!!!

  • 127. TJ  |  October 12, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    I’m desperately looking for a copy of the Sweeney Sisters Christmas medley. Do you know where I might find it?

  • 128. Scott_89  |  October 15, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I would greatly apreciate a copy. I can’t believe of all the great skits, that they didn’t put this one on the SNL Xmas DVD.

  • 129. Sean  |  October 15, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    do you happen to know where i might be able to get a copy of this sketch?

  • 130. Robyn  |  October 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I would love to see this sketch again!

  • 131. Marcy  |  October 28, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Oh how I love the Sweeneys. If you know where I can find this clip, please let me know. Thanks so much!

  • 132. Karen  |  November 5, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    I have the same joke with my sister and would LOVE a copy of the bells song. I have been looking for it for years!!!

  • 133. Megan  |  November 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    I just recently saw the sweeney sisters clip on the women of snl special and ever since i have been looking for clips of them everywhere but i can’t find anything! If there is any way you can show mw where to find it that would be great!

  • 134. Lauren  |  November 16, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Are you still offering clues as to where to get that Sweeney Sister Christmas video? If so, please advise.

  • 135. Melanie  |  November 24, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Please – I’d love to see this skit again!!

  • 136. Michelle  |  November 24, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    I would love to see this! Have been looking for it this afternoon when I stumbled upon your blog!

  • 137. Jaclyn  |  November 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I have been looking for this video forever! I would love to be pointed in the right direction…..

    Happy Holidays!

  • 138. Becky  |  December 2, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Add me to the list of people who would LOVE to see this clip again. If you knew a way to help make that happen, it would pretty much mean a Christmas miracle for me and my sister. :)

  • 139. joe  |  December 2, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    This is a family favorite and haven’t been able to find it anywhere. Would like to see it again if i could.

  • 140. kpatter  |  December 4, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    PLEASE help me find this video!!! This is all-time family fav that MUST be passed down! Thanks so much!!!

  • 141. Marisa Augello  |  December 5, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    It would be a Christmas miracle to see the Sweeney Sister Christmas sketch again!!! Please help if you can!

  • 142. Adam McFly  |  December 6, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Dear Puck, Please send me any suggestions that you might have on where I might look for the Sweeney Sisters Christmas video and any of their other videos as well. Thanks so much!! Merry Christmas!

  • 143. Sharise  |  December 7, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    Please let me know where I can get a copy of the Saturday Night Live skit “The Sweeney Sisters” Christmas Special guest star is William Shatner. My husband has been searching for years and no luck finding it! Thanks

  • 144. Scott Waddell  |  December 11, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Would love to see the Sweeney Sisters Christmas bit again. I’ve been looking for that for years! Thanks :)

  • 145. Ada Donner  |  December 12, 2010 at 1:51 am

    My Husband sings this version of Carol of the Bells. I don’t remember seeing it originally but I sure would like to see it now. Would you kindly point me in the right direction. Thank you.

  • 146. Scott  |  December 12, 2010 at 2:47 am

    I’d love to see that again. I’ve searched far and wide for that video!

  • 147. Marilyn Kamp  |  December 12, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Please let me know where I can get a copy of the Sweeny sisters christmas party – loved it – thanks

  • 148. Susan  |  December 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I’ve been looking for the Sweeney Sisters Christmas segment for years. I could be so happy if you could help me find it, please!

  • 149. Brennan  |  December 16, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    itd be really cool if you could give me some ideas of where to find this video… :)

  • 150. mg  |  December 18, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    I would love to know where I MIGHT find this video!

  • 151. Brian  |  December 19, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    This is an all-time classic sketch that I would dearly love to see again. Any advice on where I might be able to watch it would be VERY appreciated! And Merry Christmas!

  • 152. Zebedee  |  December 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Oh, dear Jebus, please tell me you have some idea where I might find this video?

  • 153. Randy  |  December 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    absolutely love this video. Please let me know if you run across a copy of it anywhere.

  • 154. Beth beard  |  December 20, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Love it! I must send this to my friend for Christmas..plus my husband has never seen it! Can you make this wish come true? Merry Christmas!

  • 155. jrh  |  December 21, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Please tell me where I can find this video! It’s not Christmas without the Sweeney sisters.

    Thank you!

  • 156. LB  |  December 22, 2010 at 1:09 am

    Would love to find a copy of this video clip. I have been looking for a couple of years.

  • 157. Chris Pittman  |  December 22, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Would LOVE to see the Sweeney Sisters skit! Why is this the holy grail of SNL videos to find???

  • 158. AngrySyko  |  December 23, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I feel like I might die if I don’t see this skit one more time. Please please help!

  • 159. Jamie Caselnova  |  December 24, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I’m in desperate need of some Sweeney Christmas!! Can you please tell me where to go? Thank you so much and Merry Christmas!!

  • 160. Katherine  |  December 24, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I would absolutely love to see this video too! I liked the skit so much a friend and I performed a version of it for our high school Christmas talent show many years ago. We would LOVE to see the original. thank you so much and Merry Christmas!!

  • 161. Len  |  December 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Hi…love the Sweeney Sisters! Would you be able to let me know where I can find it? Thanks.

  • 162. Teri Story  |  January 4, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    would love to get a copy of this somehow somewhere! my daughter is doing talent show and want her to consider this option!! thank you for any and all advice!!

  • 163. Keith  |  January 17, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    I have also been looking all over for a copy of the Sweeney Sisters Christmas Special. Can anyone help????

  • 164. Keith  |  January 17, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    I have also been looking all over for a copy of the Sweeney Sisters Christmas Special. Can anyone help????
    keith.brewer@gmail.com

  • 165. PM  |  April 3, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    I want this video! I have searched for it for ages and can’t find it anywhere. :(

  • 166. Sweeney Sister Fan  |  July 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Very simply: yes, please! I will clang for you!

  • 167. Melanie Gyles  |  August 15, 2011 at 1:29 am

    Desperate to see the sweeney sisters perform- need need need video!! also looking for the sketch with Mary Tyler Moore from Season 14 episode 15….
    trying to pull off a costume/performance for a party and freaking out!
    any help is sooooo very appreciated.

  • 168. melanie  |  October 30, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Oh my gosh! You know where to find the Sweeney Sister’s Christmas medley video? I’ve been looking for it for YEARS and we want to perform it at our church’s Christmas brunch. Please let me know how/where I can find it.

    Thanks so much!

    melanie

  • 169. Johnny  |  November 5, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    hope your arms aren’t getting tired holding that degree!!!

  • 170. brian  |  November 15, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Hi, any chance you can send me a link to the Sweeney Sisters Christmas video? THanks.

  • 171. Melissa  |  November 24, 2011 at 12:20 am

    Help me out. I recorded this to VHS during a 1995 Christmas episode and fell in love with the Sweeney sisters. Who you calling a ding-a-ling?

  • 172. Michelle  |  November 24, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Please help us with this video! It is one of my all-time favorites; I can’t hear that song without seeing Liz and Candy singing away!

  • 173. mebinsfMichael  |  November 27, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    It’s not a holiday season without seeing this skit at least 20 times. Any hints on where one might find it would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance and hope you have a great holiday season.

  • 174. Kay  |  November 30, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    I would LOVE a copy of this video if you had any idea where I might find it!!! :)

  • 175. Holly  |  December 2, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I’ve been looking for an hour and can’t find it… can you possible help me? Thanks so much!!

  • 176. Becky  |  December 5, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    I would absolutely love a copy of this video. It would make my holiday season! Thanks so much.

  • 177. kris campbell  |  December 5, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    oh please please please supply a link for our family christmas gathering!! thanks

  • 178. chav  |  December 6, 2011 at 1:41 am

    i’d love a link to the sweeny sisters!!!!!! pleaaaseee!!! :)

  • 179. April  |  December 6, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Dude, I am so stoked to find that you might actually have the Sweeney Sisters Christmas video. Hooking a sister up will put you on Santa’s good list. Please!

  • 180. Kevin B  |  December 9, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    So are you saying you know where to find the video? I love it and I was trying to show people at work how funny it was and I didn’t realize that it virtually disappeared from the internet? That’s weird, because it was really funny….Let me know if you know where to find it. I would love to show my friends…

  • 181. Christi  |  December 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Puck, you’ve helped me before (#61) and I would LOVE it if you can help me again! LOVE this clip too much!

  • 182. Cake  |  December 13, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Hi there! Just wondering if you know where I can find this video? This sketch pretty much made me who I am today, and I took all those SNL Christmas specials in teh 90’s for granted….really miss seeing this every year.

  • 183. happyhomewrecker  |  December 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Would love to see this again, my sister and I used to sing it all the time when we were kids.

  • 184. Lori McGinnis  |  December 18, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    Just as everyone else on here, I’d love to be able to watch this video again – and to show it to my niece, who has been wondering who in the heck I’ve been referring to for the past 15 years or so (she’s 23)!
    Thanks!!!

  • 185. Jessica Hanula  |  December 20, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I am having my childhood friend and her family over for Christmas Eve and have been trying to get a hold of this video to play. We had it taped and watched it over and over and re-enacted it as kids every Christmas Eve. Can you please help me with this??

  • 186. Mandy  |  December 20, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    Can u get me a copy? Its my dads fav! Thank u!

  • 187. alex  |  December 20, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Ok like everyone else here,I would love to get this video!!any help is appreciated!

  • 188. Mary Martin  |  December 21, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    My sister and I would love to re-enact this – is there ANYWHERE we can view the video?

  • 189. Brenna McDowell  |  December 21, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Soooo sad not to find this video. I love, love, love the Sweeney Sisters Christmas medley!
    Gee… I sure wish I could find it anywhere.
    I wonder…

  • 190. Ewan  |  December 21, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I’d love to see this video again. Great blog, thanks.

  • 191. Ms G  |  December 23, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    My family and I have been looking for this video clip for sooo long (like 20 years+). If you wouldn’t mind sending us the “link” it would SERIOUSLY make THE PERFECT holiday surprise!!! OMG!

  • 192. Gary Dewar  |  December 28, 2011 at 2:17 am

    This is my all time favourite clip. I would really appreciate any instructions you can provide to retrieve it. I’ve been looking for it for years.

  • 193. David  |  January 7, 2012 at 2:51 am

    Hey there!!! Any help finding the sweeney sister’s silver bells video would be greatly appreciated!!!

  • 194. Winnabel Walters  |  January 15, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Yes, me too!! I need this video!!!!…please….

  • 195. Winnabel Walters  |  January 15, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    …and thanks : )

  • 196. Mike L  |  February 26, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Not sure if you are still providing help in locating this video… but I’d love to see it! I’m not sure why SNL is keeping it hidden!!

  • 197. sarahblom  |  April 13, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    I would love to know how to get this video also! Pretty please!

  • 198. Mary  |  November 14, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Ok, so I found ONE source of the video online, a little grainy, but dang if it isn’t it! Now I’m going to be greedy and ask if you know of any other uploads that may be clearer of the Medley of the Bells…

  • 199. Lisa Scheve  |  November 25, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Would love to see this video again. Thank you!

  • 200. sarah  |  November 27, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Me too! Holiday party invites are coming and i need to polish my vocals. This is the best skit ever!!

  • 201. Lisa  |  November 28, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    Please, please, please tell me where to find this!! I just sat through the entire SNL 2012 Christmas Special hoping they would show it since it’s one of the greatest Christmas skits ever, but of course they didn’t. Help please!

  • 202. shannon  |  November 29, 2012 at 12:09 am

    I’m commenting! And it’s Xmas 2012! Do you still have the video? I used to joke about this with my dad, who now is aging poorly, and would love to share some final laughs with him. Happy Holidays!

  • 203. clint  |  November 30, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    This is the best x-mas video ever! please help me find it so my family does not have to hear me try to recreate it again.

  • 204. D Douglas  |  December 2, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Sir… could you be so kind to give me a hint where i could find a link to this video? pretty please?

  • 205. JJ  |  December 5, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    This is an awesome video and I wish I knew where to find it.

  • 206. Debb Cleghorn  |  December 6, 2012 at 11:49 am

    I would like to know where to get the video…. :)

  • 207. Camille  |  December 8, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Help me get this video. It’s my favorite

  • 208. Karen  |  December 12, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    I love this video! Been looking everywhere for it. Please help!

  • 209. JoAnne  |  April 17, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    This is one of my all-time SNL favourites. I’d love to find out where I can get a copy. Thanks.

  • 210. Rhonda  |  May 2, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    My sister and I were always called the Sweeney’s beacause we sang together in church and we always look for video to post at Christmas and Birthdays.. would love to get a copy for family enjoyment.

  • 211. DeAun Green  |  October 10, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    My sister and I are going as the Sweeney Sisters to a Halloween party and I would love it if you knew where a copy was available!

  • 212. james  |  December 7, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    Would love info on how to view Sweeney sisters carol of the bells! Thank you.

  • 213. Sue terr  |  December 21, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    Looking for sweeney sister video. Can you send me the link? Merry christmas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

I am a student of Sociology at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. I hold a degree in English Literature, also from Concordia.

Top Posts

Recent Posts

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Email me

pucksprattle [AT] yahoo [DOT] ca

I’m tracking you

website statistics

Buttons and stuff



Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

