Clips of 1970s Montreal

February 25, 2007 at 8:29 pm 6 comments

I found a couple of short clips of Montreal in 1974 and 1975 on YouTube, posted by user sandyfoote. I like that these are amateur, street-level films; you get more of an impression of what the city was really like.

Of note in the first clip is the scene in the metro. You can see the ads and metro map up on the lights above the doors and walls, instead of on the walls where they are now. Check the “X-Map” of the original metro network near the top left of this capture:

70s-metro.jpg

1974

1975

We’ll have to go through this carefully to pinpoint locations. Calling jason67!

Entry filed under: 1970s, Montreal, nostalgia, urban life, YouTube.

No wire hangers ever! Why not just start an hour earlier?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jason67  |  February 25, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    The first one is filmed at Place Ville Marie, ending in a metro car.

    As for the second, it’s a little tougher.

    I think it starts out in the Centre-Sud area.

    There’s also a footage of a busy street with lots of stores, which I presume to be Saint Catherine.

    I really don’t recognize the restaurant at the end, though. The Montreal Pool Room? Schwartz’s?

  • 2. Puck  |  February 25, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Yeah, PVM is obvious. I’ll have to take a much closer look; I posted these in a rush so I could get to the Oscars®.

  • 3. meerdahl  |  December 17, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    the metro station is mcgill on the first one

  • 4. Raf  |  January 28, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    At the beginning of the third one, the buildings seem to be near some sort of highway, because there’s a highway sign and a no houses in one direction that the camera cuts to. Could this be in the Avenue du Fort area, near Guy? The buildings suggest that area, or the McGill ghetto/old Pine/Park interchange.

    Howick Jeans still exists in Montreal. I think they had some outlets on Jean-Talon and a warehouse in Ville Saint-Laurent. Could that offer a clue? I don’t think the last restaurant was Schwartz’s because it seems too big.

  • 5. Cubist Reb  |  November 14, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I think the restaurant is Ben’s…..

  • 6. Dia  |  August 10, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    -have to say, these videos are awesome! a complete blast from the past for me… I was living in Montreal exactly at that time, going to school at McGill. THANK YOU for posting!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

I am a student of Sociology at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. I hold a degree in English Literature, also from Concordia.
February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Email me

pucksprattle [AT] yahoo [DOT] ca

I’m tracking you

website statistics

Buttons and stuff



Blogarama - The Blog Directory

