Blackout

February 27, 2007 at 10:55 pm 1 comment

On the way home from school this afternoon I saw a bunch of blocks closed off, fire trucks and police cars everywhere, and the odd ambulance. It was the exact area where there was a huge fire two weeks ago, and I wondered if there was some connection. (Or if maybe there was an arsonist who had it in for Asian noodle places, which are ubiquitous in my neighbourhood.) But I didn’t see any fire; rather, I smelled a gas leak.

Not ten minutes after I got home—just getting into my computer time, looking forward to doing some blogging or whatever—the power went out. I went down to the grocery store and did a shop, figuring the power might be back on when I got in, or shortly thereafter. No dice. I called Hydro-Québec who told me the power would be back on around 4:30.

I went down for a nap, and woke up around 6:30, still in the dark. I went to light some candles but realized I no longer had lighters in the house since I quit smoking, and I had no idea where the matches were, and didn’t feel like feeling around for them. I went out go get matches, also to see what was going on. The blackout was quite extensive.

The power came back on around 8:30. I can’t find any news on the gas leak on the local news websites, which is weird, but there will be a report on the 11:30 news. I wonder if the power was deliberately turned off as a safety measure. I did hear something about a big area being evacuated.

Entry filed under: minutiae, Montreal, urban life.

WonderRobbie is telling us he’s not going Karaoke on krack

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Steve ATEX - Explosion Safety  |  May 19, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    We had a massive natural gas pipeline leak here in Shrewsbury. A contractor cut through the 12″ gas main four houses from us, and the noise was terrific until they covered the leak with earth to wait for a repair team.

    They never disconnected the power to any houses yet there was a lot of gas around. We were all feeling very sick from the smell.

    I think that the pungent gas smell is added just to make you aware of gas leaks really, but when you get so much it really make you feel bad.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

I am a student of Sociology at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. I hold a degree in English Literature, also from Concordia.
February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Email me

pucksprattle [AT] yahoo [DOT] ca

I’m tracking you

website statistics

Buttons and stuff



Blogarama - The Blog Directory

