Sanjaya Messiah

April 8, 2007 at 1:55 pm 2 comments

In PuckTube episode 1, I said, “My hatred of [Sanjaya Malakar] burns white-hot with the fire of a thousand suns”.

I have changed.sanjaya_messiah.jpg

How appropriate that on this Easter Sunday, Sanjaya rises and transcends the physical bondage of his feeble vocal cords. Sanjaya the man has become Sanjaya the myth, the legend, the mystery.

I am Saul of Tarsus on the road to Damascus.

Puck has become Paul.

I want Sanjaya to continue on American Idol for one simple reason: Sanjaya Malakar is to this spring as Snakes on a Plane was to last summer. Sanjaya is the zeitgeist of the day. Soak it up now, for just like SoaP, he will soon be gone, and we’ll wonder what all the fuss was about—as we shift our collective fixation to something or someone else.

Entry filed under: American Idol, pop culture, PuckTube, Sanjaya Malakar, TV.

Sanjaya Anthem Minutiaeroll, Vol. 1 no. 6

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. breadman  |  April 8, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Everyone deserves 15 minutes of fame, right?

  • 2. andria  |  April 10, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    well, I never thought of him in that way, but I guess you’re right: he is the new messiah of horrible singers, ushering in the future of “When American Idol goes wrong”. Rock on Puck, rock on.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

I am a student of Sociology at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. I hold a degree in English Literature, also from Concordia.
April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Email me

pucksprattle [AT] yahoo [DOT] ca

I’m tracking you

website statistics

Buttons and stuff



Blogarama - The Blog Directory

